MARTIN COUNTY

Sandhill Cove Foundation awards scholarships

Courtesy of Jackie Holfelder Special to Treasure Coast Newspapers USA TODAY NETWORK - FLORIDA

PALM CITY - The awarding of the sixth annual Sandhill Cove Foundation Scholarship Awards took place in its beautifully redecorated Pavilion on Wednesday, June 9. Forty-four employees of Sandhill Cove Retirement Living and/or their children of were selected to receive scholarships that totaled \$139,500. The Foundation is an independent, tax-exempt public charity, set up by Sandhill Cove residents in accordance with Section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Service. It reserves 98-percent of income for qualified awardees.

Mary Antaya, Foundation president, welcomed the scholars and attendees, stating, "The Foundation, started by a few forward-thinking residents, renews our sense of purpose. We become emotionally involved in the lives of these young people, we cheer them on in their successes and are ready, sometimes, too often, to offer advice.

"Their energy and dreams take us back to earlier times in our own lives. We give, but we also receive."

Dr. Timothy Moore, president of IRSC was Keynote Speaker, encouraging the scholarship recipients to pay it back and help someone else, as residents of Sandhill Cove have done for them.

Scholarship recipients are Ashley Abaunza, Monica Adelphonse, Anthony Armstrong, Aaron Arroyo, Daria Behrens, Bonnie Burandt, Matt Burgos, Laine Campbell, Cameron Cardona, Belgine Desir, Suzzlie Desir, Clifford Dominque, Kindred Dominique, Vanessa Dominique, Brandon Duclaux, Shannon Dugan, Stacy Duphren, Cheyenna Duphren, Ivan Escobar, Kerry Exantus, Gage Fanslau, Kara Francois, Tianna Francois, Jasmine Gamez, Mark Godkin, Essence Hammond, Maria Hernandez, Cortni James, Demetrius Johnson, Rosie Julmis, Savoya Levers, Stady Ann-Marie Lewis, Beverly Ann Louissaint, Jeannie McCall, Stefanie Pineda Mijares, Elmanny Mondesir, Caleb Nonnombre, Shantia Reid, Jonathan Resendiz, Alexis Simms, Alton Simpson, Heather Stone, Katrina Teixeira and Naomi Zizzo. Scholarship Committee members at 772-283-7775.



Suzzlie Desier speaks on behalf of the scholarship recipients. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO BY JACKIE HOLFELDER



2021 Sandhill Cove Foundation Sclarship recipients. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO BY JACKIE HOLFELDER

who interviewed and selected recipients were co-chair Roger Folts, co-chair Bobbie Spilman, Ellyn Capper, Katherine Garlington, Nancy Treece, Les Applegate, Patricia Morgan and William Sheehey.

Twenty-three of the scholars will attend IRSC, 18 will attend other Florida institutions and three will take on-line courses at out-of-state universities.

They will be enrolled in degrees for Nursing, Cyber Security, Accounting, Clinical Psychology, Information Technology, Business Administration, Graphic Design, Health Care, Health Administration, Engineering and Pre-Med, as well as certifications in EMT and other career training programs. Following the award ceremony, a reception took place in the Cove of the Pavilion. Sandhill Cove Foundation, Inc. has received more than 1,400 donations from residents since its inception in August 2015.

For additional information about the Scholarship Program, call Mary Antaya, President, Sandhill Cove Foundation, Inc. at 772-283-7775



Dr. Timothy Moore, president of IRSC, with 2021 Sandhill Cove Foundation scholarship recipients who will be attending IRSC. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO BY JACKIE HOLFELDER